top of page

How I MESSED UP My A Level Project BUT Still Did Well Overall!!



Intro:

So a lot of you are GCSE / A Level Computer Science students so I think this post will help you all to do better in your projects. In the past, I've touched briefly about how I made mistakes during my A Level Project and I thought it would be good to reflect on them and to summarise them.


As always, make sure to like, comment and share the blog posts!! It really helps me and TheNibbleByte out!!

Also be sure to click on the ads as that really helps to support the blog.


How The Project Works:

I'm sure most of you know this but most A Level Computer Science courses work on an 80:20 basis (the ratio may vary). Essentially, the majority of the course is assessed by exams (I had 2) and the other is a project which is assessed by coursework.


Original Plan:

So to start with, I was struggling for ideas. I didn't want to do something boring like a 'revision tool' (one of the exemplar projects) but equally; I didn't want to pick something too difficult like a robotics project.


I decided to make a booking system style app using Java which at the time; sounded easy however I've never used Java before and had no idea what I was in for 😂!!


Issues With That Plan:

Like I said, I'd never used Java before 😂 and had severely underestimated the size and difficulty of this project. On top of that, I had planned to add authentication, an SQL database, data analysis/visualisations and payment processing using stripe; which was very ambitious!!


As with any programming project, there were lots of errors.


What I didn't know at the time was that Java was actually outdated for Android Development.


In hindsight, I wish I would've been allowed to use React JS because that would've been much simpler to create a more complete solution.


Looking back, the exam board were quite annoying with restrictions. For example, JavaScript could only be used for projects in games. I wish they were a bit more lenient!!



What I Did to Solve Those Issues:

First of all, I new that I wouldn't of been able to complete all those requirements so I decided to focus on the database and authentication parts of the solution. This meant conveying to my client that I wouldn't be completing all of the criteria.


Next, I needed to ditch SQL and find a NoSQL approach. THANKFULLY! I stumbled across FireBase which made life easier for me.


After a lot of hard work and failed tests (make sure to document them all!!) I completed 'enough' and had a strong writeup (over 100 pages) which helped me to get a good mark in the end.


Final Things:

As always, thank you for making it this far, please leave comments, they help me so much.Be sure to like and share also, lets try and get 100 views within a week, like we have done previously.Follow CompAndCode on all platforms!




  • computerscience

  • code

  • coder

  • coding

  • codinglife

  • compandcode

  • computer

  • developer

  • html

  • java

  • javascript

  • machinelearning

  • programmer

  • programming

  • python

  • softwaredeveloper

  • softwareengineer

  • tech

  • technology

  • webdeveloper



  • coding

  • code

  • coder

  • codinglife

  • compandcode

  • computer

  • computerscience

  • developer

  • html

  • java

  • javascript

  • machinelearning

  • programmer

  • programming

  • python

  • softwaredeveloper

  • softwareengineer

  • tech

  • technology

  • webdeveloper

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page